Monday, 15 December 2008

And the winner is.....

With a resounding 'Hurrah!', it's Chris Hoy!

The Sports Personality of the Year awards were held in Liverpool's Echo Arena and proved to be a very popular event, both at the arena and on TV and Radio.

Olympic champion Chris Hoy was given the honour after beating Lewis Hamilton and Rebecca Adlington respectively in the polls. Hoy received 283,630 votes, Hamilton 163,864 and Adlington 145,924.

Hoy received a standing ovation after the award brought him to tears. Hoy quipped, "It's been such a successful year for myself and British Sports, so to win the award this year is so special.". The last time a cyclist won the award was in 1965 with Tom Simpson receiving it at the age of 27.

The rest of the GB cycling team also won Team of the Year and Dave Brailsford won Coach of the Year, dedicating his award to the rest of the GB cycling squad - coaches and riders.

Hurrah for the cyclists!!

SPOY poll results -

Chris Hoy 283,630 votes
Lewis Hamilton 163,864
Rebecca Adlington 145,924
Ben Ainslie 35,472
Joe Calzaghe 34,077
Andy Murray 19,415
Nicole Cooke 18,256
Christine Ohuruogu 7,677
Bradley Wiggins 5,633
Rebecca Romero 4,526


  1. great result despite the cyclist's cheesy entrance!

  2. Unfortunately I didn't get to see the majority of the programme, just the last 30 minutes or so.

    Chris deserves it, he's an amazing rider and a lovely bloke to boot.